I Graduated. Now what?

So I haven’t been blogging for quite some time now. My apologies. I’ve been busy finishing up school, working, and preparing myself for the oh-so-daunting “real world.” But I just graduated from JMU two weeks ago and I’m still unemployed for the moment, which leaves me with some free time to write, blog, and keep myself up to date on the trends in the industries I’m hoping to be working in soon. Here is some of what I’ve been up to since the last time I blogged, which was about a year ago:

My dad, my brother and I after graduation.

  • I continued working at JMU’s Center for Faculty Innovation as a graphics/web assistant. It was a great job for me during school — flexible with classes, I worked alongside some great and intelligent people, and most of all, I gained a lot of practical experience and designed some cool print pieces for my portfolio (most of them are on the design page of my website).
  • I wrote for Port & Main magazine, a brand new student publication at JMU. I love writing features and profiles, so I had a lot of fun with this. My favorite pieces were a feature on the trend of alcoholic energy drinks among college students and a profile of three JMU alumni who are pursuing careers in the hip-hop industry.
  • I went to Cancun for spring break of my senior year with 10 of my good friends. Best week ever? Possibly.
  • I searched and applied for jobs. With two majors and a wide range of interests, I’ve been looking for any sort of communications jobs from PR to graphic design to technical writing. I interviewed with a software company in McLean and a PR company in Alexandria, among others, but for now I’m still on the hunt.
  • I graduated. Weird. I’m really going to miss JMU (and literally everything about it), but I’m also excited to move on and start something new.
  • I went to Smith Mountain Lake and Nags Head recently, which were both really fun trips and a good way to celebrate graduation.

So I’m back home in Winchester for now, at least temporarily until my parents move out of their house and to West Virginia. I recently got a part-time job at a sign printing shop working for my graphics teacher from high school. But other than that I’m just living the life of a college grad trying to find somewhere to put my degree to use.

So, like I said, I’m going to try to get back to blogging regularly about things that interest me, not just limited to sports in the social media industry. Possible topics include PR, the internet, advertising, social media, web design, journalism, sports, humor/satire, or the combination of any of the above. Sound like a plan to you readers? Good.

-ADove

Leave a Reply

